skip navigation

The Seminole Nation of Oklahoma
- Location

The Seminole Nation Tribal Jurisdiction Area is located in south-central Oklahoma, approximately 45 miles east of Oklahoma City. The Seminole Nation Tribal Complex is located in the town of Wewoka, Oklahoma. Wewoka lies at the junction of U.S. 270 and Oklahoma Highway 56 approximately 30 miles southeast of the town of Shawnee. Wewoka is also the site of several Seminole Nation programs and services. The Mekusukey Mission (which includes tribal offices, recreational areas, industrial and commercial areas, and a cultural area) is located 2 miles south and 2 miles west of the city of Seminole. The Seminole were removed to Indian Territory following the Treaty of Payne's Landing in 1832. They were eventually granted a reservation, but after subsequent land cessations, these lands were allotted following the Seminole Agreement of 1909. Today, the tribe owns 372 acres of federal trust land and approximately 53 acres of fee simple land. An additional 35,443 allotted acres supplement the tribal land base.
With a future of limitless potential and a determined 21st Century narrative, the people of the Seminole Nation hold a steadfast tenacity in building up families, cultural preservation, safe communities, municipal relationships, educational opportunities, while ensuring strong economic growth and standard of living.

| | Text Size: -A | A | A+
SEMINOLE NATION- With a vote tally coming in the rainy, early hours of Sunday, the Election Board released the results of this year's election. Incumbent Chief Greg P. Chilcoat was defeated as a large number of voters turned out at each of the polling sites to determine the way forward for government leadership within the Seminole Nation.

In a social media post from this morning Assistant Chief Lewis J. Johnson, as Chief Elect, thanked supporters for the win. "I do covet your prayers for wisdom as to lead such a great people," Johnson stated. Oath of office will take place the first regular meeting following their election, September 4, 2021, at 10 a.m.

Candidates Anthony Wood and Brian Palmer will meet again as an August 7th runoff is required to seat the Assistant Chief position.

Section 7 of the tribe's constitution states, "If a candidate for Chief or Assistant Chief does not receive the required majority of votes cast, a run-off election shall be held four weeks after the first election, and subject to all the rules and requirements of a regular general election. In the event of a run-off election, only the names of the two candidates with the highest number of votes shall appear on the ballot."

Certified Results as of 11 July, 2021:

-Chief- Votes
Lewis Johnson 1019 -59.5210%
Greg Chilcoat 387 -22.6051%
Sena Yesslith 306 -17.8738%

-Assistant Chief-
Brian Thomas Palmer 372 -21.7799%
Anthony "Buddy" Wood 338 -19.7892%
Thomas Yahola Jr. 317 -18.5597%
Jasha Rhiannon Lyons Echo-Hawk 215 -12.5878%
William Randolph Northcott 173 -12.5878%
Joe Coon 155 -9.0749%
Jeffery Dean Harjo 138 -8.0796%

-General Council-
Bruner Band
Anthony Conley
Leeta Osborne-Sampson

Dosar Barkus
Terry Loy Edwards
Anastasia Artemis Pittman

Nancy Lou B Fixico
Ida Lorraine Gonzales

Tamara Yvonne Downey
Emet Leon Petete

Joseph D. Billie
Delois Harjo

Ann Janette Borba
Karen Therese Fullbright

Stephanie Lambert

Ella Mae Colman
Shirley Jennett Watkins

Charlie Hill
Katherine Marie McCoy

Tom Palmer
Tiffany Michelle Cully
Danita Gay Holata Harjo

Tusekia Harjo
Willis Eugene Deatherage
Desiray A Emerton